display | more...

Once upon a time, the big three networks all hated a new-fangled thing thing called cable, so much they refused to let them compete in the Emmy awards.
So, in 1979, the folks at the National Cable Television Association created their own awards called the ACE (Acheivement in Cable Excellence) award, later known as the CableACE awards. Even after the Emmys started accepting cable shows, in 1988.
The CableAce awards kept going until 1999, when they finally realized they were no longer needed.

Surprisingly, most of the shows that now dominate the Emmys, mostly come from channels that use to dominate the CableAces, so what have we learned here?

Some Notable Winners Over The Years

  • Frank Sinatra
  • Cher
  • Not Necessarily the News
  • Faerie Tale Theatre
  • Billy Joel
  • Tiger Town (the first Disney Channel movie)
  • Tina Turner
  • Gary Busey
  • Peter O'Toole
  • Billy Crystal
  • Tanner '88
  • Madonna: Blond Ambition World Tour Live
  • Tales from the Crypt
  • Dream On
  • Avonlea
  • Roundhouse
  • The Larry Sanders Show
  • Rugrats
  • Beakman's World
  • Legends of the Hidden Temple
  • Politically Incorrect
  • The Adventures of Pete and Pete
  • Oz
  • Arliss
  • Inside The Actor's Studio
  • Duckman: Private Dick / Family Man
  • George Carlin
  • South Park
  • Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.