In 1983, the Mystery Writers of America established the Ellery Queen Award. Its purpose is to recognize outstanding writing teams and other people in the mystery publishing field, such as editors, film and television producers, and publishers. The award was named for Ellery Queen, the unique fictional detective and author created by the writing team of Frederic Dannay and Manfred Lee. Not only does Ellery Queen represent one of the best writing teams ever to produce mystery fiction, he was also the star of radio plays, movies, and television, making his name ideal for an award covering efforts all these areas, and more. The Ellery Queen Award winners are honored annually at the Edgar Awards Dinner.

And the winners are:

Mystery Writers of America. "The Ellery Queen Award." The Mystery Writers of America Web Site. <> (December 17, 2002)

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.