display | more...
Quebec, Canada
   Situated at the confluence of the Ottawa and Gatineau rivers, across from the City of Ottawa. Originally constituted in 1975 from the merger of Pointe-Gatineau, Touraine and Templeton. In 2001, after another provincial government-imposed merger, this time with Hull, Aylmer, Buckingham and Masson-Angers, is the new official name of the new Megacity which will have a population of about 200,000 citizens.
   The new logo for the City of Gatineau is a stylized G inscribed in a green oval where the G's hook is made of three waves representing the Ottawa, La Lievre and Gatineau rivers which flow thru the territory of the new City.
   As of January 1, 2002, the places mentioned above have ceased to exist legally, the name Gatineau regroups all these former cities.

Pop 225,345 (as of December, 27,2000)
Area: 339.37km2 or 131.09 square miles
27km (16.75mi) from the westmost to the eastmost points.
17 Electoral subdivisions

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.