An area of Hong Kong. The Kowloon Peninsula extends from the New Territories on the mainland to Victoria Harbor, across from which is Hong Kong Island.

"Kowloon" means "nine dragons". The story behind the name Kowloon is that while Emperor Ping of the Sung Dynasty was visiting the peninsula, he wanted to name it after the eight mountains he saw surrounding it (in accordance with the belief that every mountain is inhabited by a dragon). A courtier pointed out that an emperor is also a dragon, hence the name "nine dragons".

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.