The full, official name of the Canadian province colloquially referred to as Newfoundland. Newfoundland is only an island, however, and the full name emphasizes the larger, continental part, Labrador. The capital of the province is St. John's, with a population of around 177,000.

Newfoundland and Labrador would rank fourth in size behind Alaska, Texas and California if it were one of the United States. It is almost one-and-three-quarters times the size of Great Britain.

Area of the Island of Newfoundland - 111,390 km2
Area of Labrador - 294,330 km2
Area of Avalon Peninsula - 9,700 km2

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.