Released on February 24, 1975, Physical Graffiti is the most diverse of Led Zeppelin's eight studio albums. Released almost two years after Houses Of The Holy, the first album of the double set contains (finally) the title track to the previous album. Also included are the hard rockers Custard Pie and The Rover, along with the 11+ minute blues adaptation In My Time Of Dying, the funky Trampled Under Foot (containing thinly-veiled automobile metaphors for sex), and the epic Kashmir, which the band feels is its landmark work.

The second LP in the set is much lighter, with a number of short songs, including Boogie With Stu (with Ian Stewart of The Rolling Stones), Black Country Woman, the instrumental Bron-Yr-Aur (finally spelled right), country-tinged Down By The Seaside, and the psychedelic In The Light, the longest track on the album.

The album jacket itself continues the tradition of wacky Led Zeppelin albums covers. The building on the cover is 97 St. Mark's Place in New York City (which now houses, among other things, a clothing store called Physical Graffiti). A man (John Bonham?) sits on the steps outside of one entrance. The rear of the album is the building at night, reversed, and without anyone on the stairs. The feature of the album, however, are the windows.

Each of the 30 or so windows of the building is cut out of the album, allowing various photographs from the inner sleeves to 'look out' through the windows. The two inner sleeves feature a number of different pictures, including Neil Armstrong, Jerry Lee Lewis, Liz Taylor (as Cleopatra), Marlene Dietrich, King Kong, Charles Atlas and Lee Harvey Oswald.

Track Listing

Side 1

  • Custard Pie
  • The Rover
  • In My Time Of Dying

    Side 2

  • Houses Of The Holy
  • Trampled Under Foot
  • Kashmir

    Side 3

  • In The Light
  • Bron-Yr-Aur
  • Down By The Seaside
  • Ten Years Gone

    Side 4

  • Night Flight
  • The Wanton Song
  • Boogie With Stu
  • Black Country Woman
  • Sick Again

    Produced by Jimmy Page
    Executive Producer: Peter Grant

    All songs published by Joaneline Music, Inc., ASCAP.
    Package Concept & Design: AGI
    Mike Loud, London
    Peter Corriston, New York

    Photography: Elliot Erwitt, B. P. Fallen, Roy Harper
    Tinting Extraordinare: Maurice Tate
    Window Illustration: Dave Heffernan

  • Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.