The State University of New York, or SUNY, is the state-funded university system in New York State. The SUNY system is dispersed over 64 campuses, with a combined enrollment of about 400000, or 37% of New York State's higher education enrollment. It is the largest public university system in the United States.

The SUNY system is divided into four categories: University Centers/Doctoral Granting Institutions, University Colleges, Technical Colleges, and Community Colleges.

University Centers
University Centers anchor the SUNY system, with the largest number of degrees available. These are the largest schools in the system, with enrollment between 10000 - 16000.

  • SUNY Albany
  • SUNY Binghamton
  • SUNY Buffalo
  • SUNY Stony Brook
  • Doctoral Granting Institutions
    These colleges are on the campuses of private universities in New York State, but are controlled by SUNY.

  • Agriculture & Life Sciences at Cornell University
  • Ceramics at Alfred University
  • College of Optometry
  • College of Environmental Science & Forestry
  • Health Science Center at Brooklyn
  • Health Science Center at Syracuse
  • Human Ecology at Cornell
  • Veterinary Medicine at Cornell
  • Industrial & Labor Relations at Cornell
  • University Colleges
    These colleges offer 973 undergraduate and 350 masters programs over 12 campuses. Enrollment at these schools ranges between 3000 - 9000 students.

  • SUNY Brockport
  • Buffalo State
  • SUNY Cortland
  • Empire State College
  • SUNY Fredonia
  • SUNY Geneseo
  • SUNY New Paltz
  • Old Westbury
  • SUNY Oneonta
  • SUNY Oswego
  • SUNY Plattsburg
  • SUNY Potsdam
  • SUNY Purchase
  • Technical Colleges
    The eight SUNY technical colleges offer more hands-on, practical instruction than the other schools. The schools offer certificate, associate, and bachelor degree programs. These schools are also smaller than their university college counterparts, ranging from 500 - 6000 students.

  • SUNY Alfred
  • SUNY Cobleskill
  • SUNY Delhi
  • SUNY Canton
  • SUNY Farmingdale
  • SUNY-IT Utica-Rome
  • Maritime College
  • SUNY Morrisville
  • Community Colleges
    The community college system is the local representatives of higher education in New York. With thirty campuses spread around the state, these schools offer associate degrees in a variety of subjects. Credits from these schools are easily transferred to other schools in the system, making them a good starter school for the rest of the SUNY system.

  • Adirondack Community College
  • Broome Community College
  • Cayuga County Community College
  • Clinton Community College
  • Columbia-Greene Community College
  • Corning Community College
  • Dutchess Community College
  • Erie Community College
  • Fashion Institute of Technology
  • Finger Lakes Community College
  • Fulton-Montgomery Community College
  • Herkimer Community College
  • Hudson Valley Community College
  • Gennessee Community College
  • Jamestown Community College
  • Jefferson Community College
  • Mohawk Valley Community College
  • Monroe Community College
  • Nassau Community College
  • North Country Community College
  • Niagara Country Community College
  • Onandaga Community College
  • Orange County Community College
  • Rockland Community College
  • Schnectady County Community College
  • Sullivan County Community College
  • Suffolk County Community College
  • Tompkins-Cortland Community College
  • Ulster County Community College
  • Westchester Community College
  • Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.