A certification endorsed by the CompTIA organization for information security professionals. Like other certifications from CompTIA, it provides a vendor-neutral overview of the field and certifies that a candidate has a basic understanding of the principles behind network security. Candidates are recommended by CompTIA to have already completed the A+ and Network+ certifications or have equivalent experience before attempting the examination.

The Security+ certification contains five domains:

  1. General Security Concepts
  2. Communication Security
  3. Infrastructure Security
  4. Basics of Cryptography
  5. Operational/Organizational Security

Attaining the Security+ certification requires the successful completion of one 100-question examination. A passing grade is a score of 764 on a scale from 100-900. The examination is offered in English and Japanese languages.

The Security+ certification is often used as a stepping stone to more advanced certifications, like the CISSP. It also serves as an elective for the MCSE certification.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.