The Windows Registry stores the configuration of the system. The registry is divided into several sections, or Keys:

  • Hkey_Local_Machine

  • Hkey_Current_Config

  • Hkey_Classes_Root

  • Hkey_Dyn_Data

  • Hkey_Users

  • Hkey_Current_User

    To view information on each Key, click on the name in the above list. Each key can contain subkeys. These subkeys help to organize the information.

    THere are two parts to the actual registry file system. The USER.DAT contains the user-specific settings and the SYSTEM.DAT file contains the information for the system. Logically, they appear to be one single database.

  • Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.