Olympic Winter Games
This is:    Olympic Winter Games 
Go to:      Olympic Summer Games    Ancient Olympic Games

The first origins of the Olympic Winter Games are the Nordic Games held in Sweden in 1901. Olympics 1908 - London introduced skating as a summer event. Because of the weather, the skating took place in October, long after the rest of the games was finished, though. The first ever Olympic medal in an winter event was won by Swede Ulrich Salchow, after whom the ice skating jump is named.

In 1912 there were no winter events, and the 1916 who were supposed the be held in Berlin, were cancelled because of World War I. In Antwerp 1920, there were now two winter events, ice hockey in addition to the skating. First in 1924 were the first separate Winter Games held.

Olympics 1924 - Chamonix, France

Olympics 1928 - Saint Moritz, Switzerland

Olympics 1932 - Lake Placid, United States

Olympics 1936 - Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany

Olympics 1948 - Saint Moritz, Switzerland

Olympics 1952 - Oslo, Norway

Olympics 1956 - Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy

Olympics 1960 - Squaw Valley, United States

Olympics 1964 - Innsbruck, Austria

Olympics 1968 - Grenoble, France

Olympics 1972 - Sapporo, Japan

Olympics 1976 - Innsbruck, Austria

Olympics 1980 - Lake Placid, United States

Olympics 1984 - Sarajevo, Yugoslavia

Olympics 1988 - Calgary, Canada

Olympics 1992 - Albertville, France

Olympics 1994 - Lillehammer, Norway

Olympics 1998 - Nagano, Japan

Olympics 2002 - Salt Lake City, United States

Olympics 2006 - Turin, Italy

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.