A rockin' album by Toronto's blues-rock-reggae band Big Sugar:

Artist: Big Sugar
Producer: Gordie Johnson
Label: Universal Music
Year: 2001


  1. Red Rover
  2. Nashville Grass
  3. She Left Ashes
  4. Nicotina (She's All That)
  5. So Not Over
  6. Butterball
  7. Bump On The Head
  8. Lost and Found
  9. Bad Old Days
  10. We Could Live
  11. Pretty Bird
  12. All Hell For A Basement
  13. O Canada

This album has a much harder sound than Heated, the previous album. Drummer Al Cross returns for this one, displacing Heated's drummer Gavin Brown (who was better IMHO). There's a French version of this album, titled Brothers & Sisters, Etes Vous Ready? which features most of the same songs translated, but without O Canada, probably removed as not to offend the separatists.

Big Sugar are certainly not afraid of being straight-ahead rockers, even in this "post-rock" electronic period. Leader Gordie Johnson said that virtually all the effects used in this album were from pedals and boxes from the 1960s or earlier. They simply were not interested in the electronic effects of today, and instead made a heavy rock album, comfortable in any era.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.