display | more...

The Bundesliga is the organisation for Germany's two highest soccer leagues and a part of the DFB. As you can guess the better one is called 1. Bundesliga (often referred to as the Bundesliga) and the 2. Bundesliga. Every year the best three teams from the 2. Bundesliga go to the 1. Bundesliga, and the three worst 1. Bundesliga teams go to the second. The two best 1. Bundesliga teams plus the third , who has to qualify, play in the European Champions League. The fourth, fifth and sixth best team plus the winner of the DFB-Pokal go to the UEFA Cup (if the winner of the DFB-Pokal is one of the six best teams, the seventh best also goes to the UEFA Cup).

Unlike most US-American sports, there are no playoffs. Every team plays twice against every other team during a season (round robin). The best team after its 34 games is Deutscher Meister.
Former Deutsche Meister since the start of the Bundesliga:
1964 1. FC Köln
1965 Werder Bremen
1966 TSV 1860 München
1967 Eintracht Braunschweig
1968 1. FC Nürnberg
1969 FC Bayern München
1970 Borussia Mönchengladbach
1971 Borussia Mönchengladbach
1972 FC Bayern München
1973 FC Bayern München
1974 FC Bayern München
1975 Borussia Mönchengladbach
1976 Borussia Mönchengladbach
1977 Borussia Mönchengladbach
1978 1. FC Köln
1979 Hamburger SV
1980 FC Bayern München
1981 FC Bayern München
1982 Hamburger SV
1983 Hamburger SV
1984 VfB Stuttgart
1985 FC Bayern München
1986 FC Bayern München
1987 FC Bayern München
1988 Werder Bremen
1989 FC Bayern München
1990 FC Bayern München
1991 1. FC Kaiserslautern
1992 VfB Stuttgart
1993 Werder Bremen
1994 FC Bayern München
1995 Borussia Dortmund
1996 Borussia Dortmund
1997 FC Bayern München
1998 1. FC Kaiserslautern
1999 FC Bayern München
2000 FC Bayern München
2001 FC Bayern München
2002 Borussia Dortmund

Teams of the 1. Bundesliga (18 teams) (Jul. 2001):

Teams of the 2. Bundesliga (18 teams) (Jul. 2001):

The Bundesliga is also an organisation of Austria's Football Association - the ÖFB. It is the top football league in the country and it is sometimes referred to a T-Mobile Bundesliga, after its sponsor (a major mobile phone network).

In the 2001/2002 the Bundesliga consisted of the following teams:

  • FC Tirol
  • SK Sturm Graz
  • GAK
  • Austria Wien
  • FC Kärnten
  • SV Salzburg
  • FC Bregenz
  • SK Rapid Wien
  • SV Ried
  • Admira Mödling
  • The second highest league used to be called 2. Bundesliga (zweite Bundesliga), but has been renamed to 1. Division (erste Division). Hence, its teams will not be listed here.

    Official website: http://bundesliga.at

    Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.