Joe Satriani is an extremely talented guitarist. Besides composing numerous deep, moving guitar pieces, he should also be noted for having instructed other notable guitarists such as Steve Vai and Kirk Hammett. Although he can really shred when he wants to, he doesn't just write songs to show off his speed, a la Yngwie Malmsteen. Most of his songs have loads of musical and compositional merit, in addition to guitar skill demonstration.

Joe's albums to date:
Joe Satriani discography:

Not of This Earth
Relativity Records (Studio Recording 1986)

  1. Not of this Earth
  2. The Snake
  3. Rubina
  4. Memories
  5. Brother John
  6. The Enigmatic
  7. Driving at Night
  8. Hordes of Locusts
  9. New Day
  10. Headless Horseman

Surfing With The Alien
Relativity Records (Studio Recording 1987)

  1. Surfing With the Alien
  2. Ice 9
  3. Crushing Day
  4. Always With Me, Always With You
  5. Satch Boogie
  6. Hill of the Skull
  7. Circles
  8. Lords of Karma
  9. Midnight
  10. Echo

Dreaming #11
Recorded At The California Theater, San Diego, CA in June, 1988
Relativity Records (Studio/Live Recording 1988)

  1. The Crush of Love
  2. Ice 9
  3. Memories
  4. Hordes of Locusts

Flying In A Blue Dream
Relativity Records (Studio Recording)

  1. Flying In A Blue Dream
  2. Mystical Potato Head Groove Thing
  3. Can't Slow Down
  4. Headless
  5. Strange
  6. I Believe
  7. One Big Rush
  8. Big Bad Moon
  9. The Feeling
  10. The Phone Call
  11. Day at the Beach
  12. Back to Shalla-Bal
  13. Ride
  14. The Forgotten (part 1)
  15. The Forgotten (part 2)
  16. The Bells of Lal (part 1)
  17. The Bells of Lal (part 2)
  18. Into the Light

The Extremist
Relativity Records (Studio Recording 1992)

  1. Friends
  2. Extremist
  3. War
  4. Cryin'
  5. Rubina's Blue Sky Happiness
  6. Summer Song
  7. Why
  8. Tears in the Rain
  9. Motorcycle Driver
  10. New Blues

Time Machine
Relativity Records (Studio Recording - Disk 1 1993/Live - Disk 2)

Disc 1:

  1. Time Machine
  2. The Mighty Turtle Head
  3. All Alone
  4. Banana Mango 2
  5. Thinking of You
  6. Crazy
  7. Speed of Light
  8. Baroque
  9. Dweller on the Threshold
  10. Banana Mango
  11. Dreaming #11
  12. I am Become Death
  13. Saying Goodbye
  14. Woodstock Jam

Disc 2:

  1. Satch Boogie
  2. Summer Song
  3. Flying in a Blue Dream
  4. Cryin'
  5. The Crush of Love
  6. Tears in the Rain
  7. Always With Me, Always With You
  8. Big Bad Moon
  9. Surfing with the Alien
  10. Rubina
  11. Circles
  12. Drum Solo
  13. Lords of Karma
  14. Echo

Joe Satriani
Relativity Records (Studio Recording 1995)

  1. Cool #9
  2. If
  3. Down, Down, Down
  4. Luminous Flesh Giants
  5. S.M.F.
  6. Look My Way
  7. Home
  8. Moroccan Sunset
  9. Killer Bee Bop
  10. Slow Down Blues
  11. (You're) My World
  12. Sittin' Around

Crystal Planet
Epic Records Group (Studio Recording 1998)

  1. Up In The Sky
  2. House Full Of Bullets
  3. Crystal Planet
  4. Love Thing
  5. Trundrumbalind
  6. Lights Of Heaven
  7. Raspberry Jam Delta-V
  8. Ceremony
  9. With Jupiter In Mind
  10. Secret Prayer
  11. A Train Of Angels
  12. A Piece Of Liquid
  13. Psycho Monkey
  14. Time
  15. Z.Z.'s Song

Engines of Creation
Epic Records Group (Studio Recording 2000)

    Disc 1:

  1. Devil's Slide
  2. Flavor Crystal 7
  3. Borg Sex
  4. Until We Say Goodbye
  5. Attack
  6. Champagne?
  7. Clouds Race Accross the Sky
  8. The Power Cosmic 2000 Part 1
  9. The Power Cosmic 2000 Part 2
  10. Slow and Easy
  11. Engines of Creation
  12. Disc 2 (This was a bonus disc only available at certain places and in limited numbers, titled Additional Creations):

  13. Turkey Man
  14. Borg Sex (rock mix)
  15. Flavor Crystal 7 (rock mix)
  16. Until We Say Goodbye (techno mix)

Live in San Francisco
Recorded at The Fillmore, San Francisco, CA in December, 2000
Epic Records Group (Live Recording 2000)

    Disc 1:

  1. Time
  2. Devil's Slide
  3. The Crush of Love
  4. Satch Boogie
  5. Borg Sex
  6. Flying in a Blue Dream
  7. Ice 9
  8. Cool #9
  9. Circles
  10. Until We Say Goodbye
  11. Ceremony
  12. The Extremist
  13. Summer Song
  14. Disc 2:

  15. House Full of Bullets
  16. One Big Rush
  17. Raspberry Jam Delta-V
  18. Crystal Planet
  19. Love Thing
  20. Bass Solo
  21. The Mystical Potato Head Groove Thing
  22. Always With Me, Always With You
  23. Big Bad Moon
  24. Friends
  25. Surfing With the Alien
  26. Rubina

Strange Beautiful Music
Sony Music Distribution (Studio Recording 2002)

  1. Oriental Melody
  2. Belly Dancer
  3. Starry Night
  4. Chords of Life
  5. Mind Storm
  6. Sleep Walk
  7. New Last Jam
  8. Mountain Song
  9. What Breaks a Heart
  10. Seven String
  11. Hill Groove
  12. The Journey
  13. The Traveler
  14. You Saved My Life
  15. The Eight Steps (Bonus track)
  16. Slick (Bonus track)
  17. Sources: and information gathered from my own collection.

Joe Satriani grew up in Long Island, New York. A phenomenal solo artist in his own right, he also is responsible for the instruction of guitar gods Steve Vai and Kirk Hammet of Metallica. As a young man, he toured extensively around the world with various groups before returning to the states in the early 80's to form the Squares, which folded in 1984, due to failure in the pop market. This failure actually gave Satriani the freedom to expand his experimental ideas in guitar playing, composition, and actual guitar building. Soon, Satriani had released a self-titled EP, and began a short stint with the Greg Kihn band, playing on their album Love And Rock 'N' Roll.

Satriani then wrote and released his first full-length solo album, Not Of This Earth, which was soon followed by the more finished and successful Surfing With The Alien. Without the aid of any vocal parts, this album went gold, and brought Satriani into the public eye, despite the general opinion that musicians like him were too technical and complex for commercial production. In 1988 he formed a more stable lineup, consisting of bassist Stuart Hamm and drummer Jonathan Mover.

Known for pushing his instrument to its limits and beyond, Satriani has since expanded his talents to include banjo, harmonica, and vocal tracks, which can be heard on his more recent albums, most notably Flying in a Blue Dream. His 1993 double-album release Time Machine contains old and new tracks, and several live tracks from his Extremist tour in 1993.

In 1994, Satriani joined Deep Purple, replacing Ritchie Blackmore, and has continued to produce solo albums. If you ever get a chance, check him out at G3, a more-or-less annual tour hosted by Satriani, Steve Vai, and whoever else they ask to play with them.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.