Wielkopolska (or Greater Poland) is a region located in the West of the country, in the Warta river valley. The name and classification is a historical one as Wielkopolska was the core of the medieval Polish state. The main cities of the region are:

  • Poznan (population: 575,000)
  • Leszno (63,000)
  • Kalisz (107,000)
  • Gniezno (72,000)
  • Most of the historical region has been included the Wielkopolskie voivodship, one of the 16 administrative provinces created in 1999.

    Area: 29,826 sq. km.
    Total population: 3.4 million inhabitants

    Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.