display | more...

"I get to play with Stewart Copeland! YOU don't get to play with Stewart Copeland...at least not today."

-Les Claypool, 5/4/00

This is the title of the first (and so far, only) album from Oysterhead, the supergroup trio consisting of Trey Anastasio from Phish, Les Claypool from Primus, and Stewart Copeland from the Police. According to Trey, the title is a reference to how the three members interact, as they are all used to being the "alpha dogs" in their other bands. The album was recorded in March and April of 2001 at Trey’s converted barn studio in Vermont, and was released on October 2, 2001 by the Elektra label.

The track list, with timings, is as follows:

  1. Little Faces (4:57)
  2. Oz Is Ever Floating (2:49)
  3. Mr. Oysterhead (4:51)
  4. Shadow Of A Man (3:44)
  5. Radon Balloon (3:21)
  6. Army's On Ecstasy (4:31)
  7. Rubberneck Lions (5:17)
  8. Polka Dot Rose (3:10)
  9. Birthday Boys (3:06)
  10. Wield The Spade (5:48)
  11. Pseudo Suicide (4:54)
  12. The Grand Pecking Order (2:35)
  13. Owner Of The World (2:45)

At the first live performance of the band at the Saenger Theatre in New Orleans last year, four of these songs (Mr. Oysterhead, Rubberneck Lions, Pseudo Suicide, and Owner of the World) were played, along with several other originals. Little Faces is I Am Oysterhead with different lyrics, and Birthday Boys was played as an instrumental under the title Blue Ginger, or The Meadow according to various sources.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.