display | more...
The John W. Campbell Award For Best New Writer is given to the best new science fiction and/or fantasy author whose first work was published in a professional publication in the last 2 years. The award is usually presented at the annual WorldCon, together with the Hugo Award. The voting procedure is the same as the one for the Hugo Award.

The term "professional publication" is defined (by the award committee) as a publication with a distrubition of at least 10.000 copies per issue. For the most recent awards, this includes the genre magazines Analog, Asimov's, The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Realms of Fantasy, and the now sadly deceased Amazing Stories and Science Fiction Age. Non-genre magazines are considered as well (e.g Playboy and The New Yorker, both of which occasionally run SF stories). Stories from major anthologies are also eligible. Currently electronic publications are not considered by the committee.

For a complete list of nominees, I refer you to the excellent meta-node on the Hugo Awards by Void_Ptr. Here is the list of winners:

1973-- Jerry Pournelle
1974-- Spider Robinson and Lisa Tuttle (tie)
1975-- P.J. Plauger
1976-- Tom Reamy
1977-- C.J. Cherryh
1978-- Orson Scott Card
1979-- Stephen R. Donaldson
1980-- Barry B. Longyear
1981-- Somtow Sucharitkul
1982-- Alexis Gilliland
1983-- Paul O. Williams
1984-- R.A. MacAvoy
1985-- Lucius Shepard
1986-- Melissa Scott
1987-- Karen Joy Fowler
1988-- Judith Moffett
1989-- Michaela Roessner
1990-- Kristine Kathryn Rusch
1991-- Julia Ecklar
1992-- Ted Chiang
1993-- Laura Resnick
1994-- Amy Thomson
1995-- Jeff Noon
1996-- David Feintuch
1997-- Michael A. Burstein
1998-- Mary Doria Russell
1999-- Nalo Hopkinson
2000-- Cory Doctorow

Next to this award for Best New Writer, there is also the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Best Novel.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.