display | more...
Frank Zappa album from 1979.

Sheik Yerbouti is Zappa's biggest-selling album, primarily because of the European success of the track Bobby Brown. However, it is not one of his better works, being oriented more towards ditties about sex than his better compositions. However, it's funny and catchy, and if you like that sort of thing, this is the sort of thing you'll like.

The album also caused controversy with the song Jewish Princess, which got attacked as anti-semitic (wrongly IMHO) by the Anti-Defamation League. Zappa responded, characteristically, by writing a simillar song, Catholic Girls about his own ethnic group.

Zappa's band for this album:
Adrian Belew - rhythm guitar, vocals
Tommy Mars - keyboards, vocals
Peter Wolf - keyboards, butter
Patrick O'Hearn - bass, vocals
Terry Bozzio - drums, vocals
Ed Mann - percussion, vocals
David Ocker - clarinets on Wild Love
Napoleon Murphy Brock - backing vocals
Andre Lewis - backing vocals
Randy Thornton - backing vocals
Dave Moore - backing vocals


  1. I Have Been In You
  2. Flakes
  3. Broken Hearts Are For Assholes
  4. I'm So Cute
  5. Jones Crusher
  6. What Ever Happened To All The Fun In The World
  7. Rat Tomago
  8. We've Got To Get Into Something Real
  9. Bobby Brown
  10. Rubber Shirt
  11. The Sheik Yerbouti Tango
  12. Baby Snakes
  13. Tryin' To Grow A Chin
  14. City Of Tiny Lites
  15. Dancin' Fool
  16. Jewish Princess
  17. Wild Love
  18. Yo Mama

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.